Skip to content

Right to Life planning to challenge GR City Commission on Public Employee Health Benefits issue

June 7, 2012

It’s bad enough that in the past few years, public employees have had their health benefits attacked and retirement benefits decreased because of the austerity measures being imposed on Grand Rapids City employees.

Now, Right to Life is planning on pressuring the Grand Rapids City commission to not allow health benefits to cover women’s reproductive rights.

The Grand Rapids Right to Life is planning on coming to the next City Commission meeting on June 12 to propose a resolution that would ban the use of public funds to pay for abortions for city employees and their dependents – in short, denying medical care to its employees.

Here is a copy of an e-mail message sent to area Right to Life supports about this campaign to attack women’s health:

Dear ProLife Supporter,

This is a call to “spring to action!” 

With your help, we have now obtained the attention of elected officials!

 

On June 12, the Grand Rapids City Commission will vote on the resolution to ban the use of public funds to pay for abortion coverage for city employees and their dependents. 

It is now time for a critical step: apply much public pressure on the elected officials. 

 

Two important things that you can do to help are:

 

1. Contact all seven elected officials, mayor and all the commissioners, and ask to vote in favor of the resolution (see below contact information).

2. Attend the city commission meeting:

When: Tuesday, June 12, at 7:00pm, promptly.

Location: Mulick Park Elementary School, 1761 Rosewood SE, Grand Rapids. 

People involved in organizing the Stop the War Against Women Rally on May 24 are calling on people to either attend the June 12 City Commission meeting to counter the Right to Life point of view or contact the City Commissioners and tell them you support women’s reproductive rights and do not want them to give in to the Right to Life pressure.

Your voice is needed at the Grand Rapids City Commission meeting on June 12 at 7:00 pm at Mulick Park Elementary School, 1761 Rosewood SE.

Mayor George Heartwell:  456-3168 or 742-0693 mayor@grcity.us

David Shaffer: 456-5337 or 724-4732 dshaffer@grcity.us

Walt Gutowski:  456-3035 waltgutowski@grcity.us

Rosalynn Bliss: 456-3035 rbliss@grcity.us 

Ruth Kelly: 456-3035 rkelly@grcity.us 

Elias Lumpkins: 456-3035 or 340-5361 elumpkins@comcast.net

James White: 456-3035 jwhite@grcity.us 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

%d bloggers like this: